Counseling and Guidance

Serra counselors see themselves as student advocates who, in partnership with parents and faculty, help our Padres to achieve their personal and academic goals and successfully navigate their high school journey.

Preparing Padres for the road ahead

It’s no secret that planning for college can be stressful for students and their families. In an era when many parents feel the need to hire expensive private college counselors, it’s important to know that Serra’s counseling team has the expertise and extensive resources to expertly shepherd our Padres through the college planning and application process. The results speak volumes about the counseling team’s success: Every year, 99 to 100 percent of Serra students matriculate to the colleges that best suit their academic and career interests, consistently earning millions of dollars in college scholarships. For the class of 2020, that number was $22 million.

99%

of Serra graduates matriculate to college

Focusing on student well-being in the here and now

The future looks brightest when students can see a clear path forward. Recognizing that the high school years can sometimes dish up both personal and academic challenges for the young men, our counselors are equipped to provide social-emotional support and resources our students need, and the academic intervention and advocacy that will help them to course correct. The counseling team also offers support groups each school year. One topic addresses students’ social interaction and how to successfully engage in the Serra community; others are flexible, chosen in response to students’ needs and interests. Counselors are always available to meet with students and parents as requested or needed.

Counseling and Guidance FAQs


 

Guidance and Counseling Calendar

September 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 28
Mon, Aug 29
Tue, Aug 30
Wed, Aug 31
Thu, Sep 1
Fri, Sep 2
Sat, Sep 3
Sun, Sep 4
Mon, Sep 5
Tue, Sep 6
Wed, Sep 7
Thu, Sep 8
Fri, Sep 9
Sat, Sep 10
Sun, Sep 11
Mon, Sep 12
Junior College Night
-
Zoom
Tue, Sep 13
Wed, Sep 14
Thu, Sep 15
Fri, Sep 16
Sat, Sep 17
Sun, Sep 18
Mon, Sep 19
Tue, Sep 20
Wed, Sep 21
Thu, Sep 22
Fri, Sep 23
Sat, Sep 24
Sun, Sep 25
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1

Counselor and Student Connection

 

 


 

 


Counseling Staff

Jane Zoucha

Jane Zoucha

Director of Counseling
Karen Ghidossi

Karen Ghidossi

Counselor
Chris Quiery '01

Chris Quiery '01

Class of 2001
Counselor
Daniel Arias

Daniel Arias

Counselor
Brian Emejuru

Brian Emejuru

Counselor
Nicholas Peruzzaro

Nicholas Peruzzaro

Wellness Counselor/Mission & Brotherhood Coordinator

current students and parents:

More college planning tools and resources are available in your PCR portal.
Student portal
Parent portal